National Electrical Installation Standards

Standards as High as Your Own


State Regulations & Licensing

Print | Share This

This section summarizes the major provisions of electrical code, enforcement, and contractor/electrician licensing requirements for each state in the U.S. Information was compiled by NECA’s national office and local chapters. States are listed alphabetically. 
For more current or detailed information about a state’s electrical regulations or licensing requirements, contact the agency listed for that state directly.

Statewide Contractor/Electrician Licensing

States with statewide licensing requirements typically have an electrical or licensing board with the power to give examinations and issue licenses and to suspend and revoke licenses for cause. Some states have no statewide licensing requirements, leaving this matter entirely to local jurisdictions. Some states have reciprocity arrangements for contractor/electrician licensing with others that have the same or similar requirements.

Exceptions: Some states exempt certain types of work or classes of installations from electrical code, inspection, and/or licensing requirements. Typical exemptions are listed below; they are referenced by code letter in the individual state listings.

  • Electric utility installations and wiring, up to and including meters on customer premises.
  • Communications systems including radio, cable television, telecommunications, and similar systems.
  • Industrial installations.
  • Installations of a specialized nature such as mines, refineries, gas and oil fields, and transportation systems.
  • Automotive wiring.
  • Temporary wiring on construction or similar projects.
  • Installations on government property.
  • Farm or agricultural installations.
  • Electrical appliances.
  • One- and two-family dwellings.
  • Work performed by homeowners on their own property, not intended for sale.

Statewide Codes and Enforcement

This listing also includes state safety requirements for electrical construction. Most states adopt by referencing the National Electrical Code (ANSI/NFPA 70) and any applicable local requirements. Some states reference the National Electrical Safety Code (ANSI/IEEE standard C2). Many states with statewide electrical codes allow local jurisdictions to adopt more stringent requirements. Some states have no electrical codes or enforcement authority, leaving these matters entirely to local jurisdictions.